Mill 'The White Lady' IJzendijke (The Netherlands)

'The White Lady' ('De Witte Juffer' in Dutch) mill from IJzendijke was built between 1841 and 1965 and is a flour mill of the scaffolding type and measures 5 meters (16ft) high. It is a round white-painted stone mill that can find at the Biestraat 18 in IJzendijke. The mill is built on a mountain and is accessible by bike and on foot via an asphalt road. This mill that dominates the landscape was made to grind grain, this is still done on a voluntary basis under the guidance of the miller Ton Koops. You can visit 'The White Lady' mill on every Saturday between 1 p.m. and 5 p.m. The mill was officially named 'De Witte Juffer' on 18 July 2009. Previously this mill had no name at all. What makes this mill unique is that it is the only scoop grinder in the Netherlands with a Flemish cap. Around the mill there are still cross hooks from the time that this mill was a chain porter.
Location / Coördinates / Google Maps:
51° 19′ 13.68″ N, 3° 36′ 55.18″ E


The White Lady of Ijzendijke.

Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 01 Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 02 Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 03 Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 04 Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 05 Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 06 Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 07 Mill Ijzendijke (The Netherlands) 08